Lacy Skirt With Bows

picture-1596-1.jpg

 

 

Lacy Skirt With Bows 

 

Pattern Source:  Greetings From Knit Cafe – Suzan Mischer

Pattern:  Lacy Skirt With Bows – Kat Coyle

Yarn:  Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in Victorian Pink – 3.75 skeins used

Needles:  US #6 – 32″ circular Knit Pick Options

US #5 – 24″ Inox Express circular

Gauge: 5 stitches/per inch – on smaller needles

Size: Small

Modifications:  There were no major modifications other than the fact that I knit in the round instead of knitting the back and front separately.  I began by knitting 24 rows of all six panels separately.  Then I connected three panels for the front, and then three panels for the back, and after finishing another 24 rows of the lace for both sides, I connected both the front and back panels together and began knitting in the round.   And of course I used ribbon instead of another yarn for the bows.

 Thoughts:  My favorite skirt so far!  The fit is beautiful, the color is awesome, the yarn is extremely light and works well with the TX heat.  I would definitely make another one, maybe one in black for more formal occasions.   It was also an amazingly quick knit.  I started this project in the wee hours of the 17th, and lightly blocked it last night, so just under four days I was able to finish it.  This is my second Kat Coyle skirt and I have to say that her designs are so feminine without being too overpoweringly “girlie.”

Conclusion:  Lacy Skirt with Bows – I love you!

 

picture-1576.jpg

 

 

 

picture-1579.jpg

 

 

 

picture-1594.jpg

picture-1605.jpg

 

 

22 Responses to “Lacy Skirt With Bows”

  1. Julie Says:

    I love your skirt, you did a fantastic job! The colour is especially great- with the chocolate coloured ribbons, and your white top, it’s like neopolitan ice cream! 😉

  2. NIKA Says:

    It looks beautiful!!!

    I’ve been in Knitting skirt mania myself since the Indigo Ripple and IC are finished. I am working on Blue sky alpaka’s pleated skirt currently and I might knit this one the next!!

  3. amanda Says:

    that looks so nice on you. very, very pretty!

  4. adrienne Says:

    BEAUTIFUL! It looks wonderful on you!!!!

  5. Silver Ilix Says:

    Looks fabulous! I think a black one would be a great addition! I love that you can change the ribion! So go girlie one day and sassy the next!
    Gotta look up that pattern! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    Neapolitan ice cream, I love that!

    Thanks so much everyone!

  7. Emilee Says:

    Beautiful work! It’s really flattering too.

  8. Haley Says:

    the skirt looks great. very flattering. much better than the unmentionables. good decision on reusing the yarn for this.

  9. Alexa Says:

    You know, I’m usually not a fan of knitted skirts but yours looks amazing!

  10. Joy Says:

    wow… you knit like the wind! very fast and very nice!

  11. lisa Says:

    I LOVE it. Its hard to find a decent knit skirt, too!

  12. Hege Says:

    Your skirt is beautiful – love the colour!
    Hav a great weekend 🙂

  13. pax Says:

    What a beautiful skirt and color and love with the brown ribbon.Its so fit on you.

  14. Stacey Says:

    Wow! That is a knock out skirt!!
    Maybe I should try the Brown Sheep for the Indigo Ripple as well? What do you think? They are almost the same skirt right!?

  15. Elizabeth Says:

    Several people participating in the KAL used brown sheep. http://indigorippleskal.blogspot.com/

  16. Jody Says:

    Fan-effing-tastic! I’m going to have to go get that book now. Love the color!

  17. Jennifer Says:

    That is so beautiful!!

  18. Where shall we start…? « HELLO Knitters Says:

    […] inspired by Elizabeth who recently finished her Lacy Skirt – you go girl!  Hopefully, mine won’t fit sooo […]

  19. zenzontle Says:

    Hi there… who`s the woman in the picture? she has the most sesiest toes I ever seen before!!!! some pics with her barefeet on the porche will be apreciated… of course, with a beautiful skirt will be a plus!!!

  20. Monique Says:

    You did a wonderful job and it fits you like a dream!

  21. nik Says:

    This is so cute.

  22. knittinginmind Says:

    Your skirt is beautiful and fits you perfectly.
    I’m adding this pattern to my list.

Leave a comment