Better Judgment

I have loved the paririe tunic, its simplicity, its beauty, its uniqueness, ever since I first saw it last year. It finally became available through Knitting Daily and I jumped and bought the pattern. After some thought I decided to use KnitPicks Gloss because the gauge and weight was an exact match for the Jaeger Sienna. Unfortunately as I was reading the pattern I realized the smallest size was a 33″ bust. I realize that it’s a tunic and it’s supposed to be a light and free flowly, but 33″ goes beyond free flowly, we’re venturing into “swimming in the garment” territory. So I did a little math and cast on less stitches but with the amazing stretching powers of the lace inserts, even that did not help. I wasn’t exactly thrilled with my original yarn choice so I decided to dig through my stash to see what else I might have that would work. I came across several skeins of Buckingham (Bristol Yarn Gallery) and even though it’s a fingering weight yarn, it knits up at a smaller gauge than the Gloss. With my smaller gauge yarn and my new fangled math, I jumped into the project and quickly fell in love. Every couple of rows I would stretch and pin and measure my progress. I eventually got to the back triangle part before realizing that I had decreased way too many times in the waist and therefore did not have enough stitches to properly decrease in the upper back. I must be growing and maturing because instead of breaking down in tears and swearing and kicking small puppies, I calmly and without fan fair put the project aside, reworked the math and restarted the project. I know some of you must be wondering why I didn’t just rip back to the waist decreases and work from there? There is a logical explanation. I wasn’t happy with the size of the tunic, and despite my better judgment I persevered thinking that I would fix the overall size by just adding more waist decreases not taking into account the fact I had to decrease for the triangle section. I will finish this project if it kills me. I am determined.

2 Responses to “Better Judgment”

  1. soknitpicky Says:

    I admire your tenacity! Can’t wait to see it

  2. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    Hey, nice tips. I’ll buy a bottle of beer to that person from that chat who told me to go to your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

