Cobblestone For Her

Cobblestone
Because I liked this sweater so much I decided to knit a version for myself.
Yarn: 5 skeins Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool in color 59.
Needles: US #4 – 24″ Knit Pick Options Circulars, US #5 – 16″ Inox Express Circulars
Gauge: 4.25 stitches per inch on smaller needles
Modifications: Where to begin? There were many modifications, mainly the substitution of moss stitch instead of garter. I feel that moss stitch looks more feminine… whether that’s true or not…. I also added waist shaping and omitted all the short rows in the yoke. While I love the look of the moss stitch, it was very difficult to make the decreases look good. As it is, you can see where I decreased but it doesn’t look terrible, it actually gives the yoke a more interesting look and almost looks as if it was purposeful. The sleeves were knit flat and seamed. I love this sweater and it is my first long sleeved garment.
Unfortunately the pictures do not capture the color or beauty of this sweater all that well.
picture-5316-1.jpg
picture-5313-1.jpg
picture-5202-1.jpg
picture-5101.jpg
picture-5109.jpg
Tags: , , , ,

19 Responses to “Cobblestone For Her”

  1. babybot23 Says:

    that’s beautiful, and inspiring.

  2. Rubys N Purls Says:

    Wow! I love it! I agree that the moss stitch definitely makes this knit more feminine. Great job!

  3. crimsonpurl Says:

    Absolutely love it!!
    Fabulous knitting as always!

    I can’t wait to see what you create in 08!

  4. Soknitpicky Says:

    That is really pretty on you. Neat mods!

  5. lashell Says:

    So pretty and a great color. I would have never thought to fem the cobblestone up.

  6. Ella Says:

    One of my favorite colors… that yummy red that just begs to be worn. Love it!

    Happy new year!

  7. Maryse Says:

    It looks wonderful! Now, I’d want to make one for myself too! Congratulations!

  8. Meaghan Says:

    Beautiful! I really liked the Cobblestone as it was, but had thought to myself I’d like a “female version” – now here it is! Great work!

  9. Tiffany Says:

    It is beautiful. Great job!

  10. yarnnut Says:

    Great job! I heart that sweater. Great color on you too.

  11. yarnnut Says:

    Great job! I heart that sweater. Great color on you too.

  12. peacockchic Says:

    wow that did come out lovely !! Congrats

  13. Bobbi Says:

    very impressive! I love it!

  14. nettie Says:

    This is a fantastic sweater! Especially the fit. Great job.

  15. sixoneseven Says:

    I love your adaptation of this pattern–great job!

  16. kat Says:

    it fits you so nicely

  17. Lara Says:

    Your Cobblestone looks fantastic! I agree that the moss stitch makes it look more feminine. A very nice modification!

  18. Zylo Says:

    Oh, wow. That turned out so beautifully. You look great in it!

  19. Tracee Says:

    Hi there! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog such as yours
    take a lot of work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views
    online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for
    brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

