So how do people do it?

Wow.  It’s been almost a month since I’ve finished a project.  For awhile I worked on Salina but after getting to the armhole/neck shaping, I just wasn’t feeling her so I added her to the “frog” pile.  I then bought some really wonderful Buckingham by Bristol Yarn Gallery and started knitting Thermal from Knitty.com and so far it’s turning out beautifully.  Unfortunately it is knit with fingering weight yarn and on size 2 needles so this makes for a very slow, time consuming project.  I only work on it in tiny increments, 15-20 minutes at a time, maybe once or twice a day.  At this rate Thermal should be finished by 2027.

picture-4564.jpg

Has anyone knit with O-Wool?   I bought 10 skeins of it in a grey tweed to knit the Cobblestone Pullover from the latest issues of Interweave Knits.  It’s 50% organic merino wool and 50% organic cotton and so far I’m really digging it.  The pullover and yarn is perfect, I’m knitting it for my hybrid driving, tree hugging, earth friendly, environmentally conscience friend.  One of the downsides of knitting for someone who isn’t within arms length is that you never know how it’ll fit.  I have cast on and am already inches into the garter stitch bottom.  This is the first project in a month that I’ve been super excited about doing.  Let’s hope it fits!

And why haven’t I been knitting like a crazy fiend?  Because I am totally digging the new job!  DUH!  I seriously love it.  I feel so incredibly lucky to be working at HCW but to also spend my time around people who love the same things I do and to be able to talk to them and help them….  I look forward to going into work and you know, not many people can say that!  Not only that but also my PTO duties.  This year I’m on the PTO board and let me tell you… it’s a lot of work and commitment.  Oh and let’s not forget that basketball season starts next month and I’ve got two kids signed up.  I seriously don’t know how parents do the working, volunteering, parenting thing without going absolutely insane.  My hats off to those of you who do it all, because it’s totally kicking my butt.  The 2a.m. knitting marathon sessions are no more.  Last night I actually went to bed at 9:30 P.M.  That is unheard of.  Me, Mrs. NightOwl, I can be exhausted all day long and come 9:00 at night, I am wide awake.

I will try and remember to take some pictures of my Cobblestone Pullover progress tomorrow.  We are going to a Halloween party tomorrow night where I plan on spending a lot of time drinking and by “a lot” I actually mean 1, or 1.5 drinks because that’s pretty much all my body can handle without going into toxic shock and I spend the next 4 days with a hangover(long story… I’ll regal y’all with it sometime) and debauchery!  Yay!

God I hope it fits.

One Response to “So how do people do it?”

  1. Julie Says:

    I knwo what you mean about Thermal being really slow going- damn those tiny needles and fingering weight yarn! But it’s really worth it. i must have put it down a hundred times to do other things, but once I finally finished it, I’ve never been so happy with oneof my knits. In fact, I’m wearing thermal right now! When it was smaller, I stashed it in my purse and knit whenever I had a few spare minutes (mostly on the subway). The sleeves seemed to take forever- so you’ve got THAT to look forward to! 😉

Leave a Reply

