Beadless Cami

 

 

Beaded(less) Cami

Pattern: Black Dog Designs

Yarn: 3.5 balls Classic Elite Wool Bam Boo, Color -Indigo

Needles: #6 US Knit Pick Circulars

Gauge: 5stitches/per 1″

Pattern Notes: I am so in love with this top! It was only till I got to the top lace did I run into any problems but after reading an article over at knitty, did I finally conquer that grafting method who shall not be named “kitchener stitch,” which isn’t as horrid now that I know how to do it properly! After reading several other blogs and their modifications I chose to cast on for 4 lace repeats around the bottom, and then decreased every 6 rows until I had enough stitches for 3 lace repeats along the top. I also knit in the round, especially with all the stockinette stitching, just seemed like the logical choice.  I omitted the empire waist and am contemplating omitting the straps and beads and adding some elastic along the top to hold it up.  What do you think?

 

Yarn Notes: I don’t normally talk up yarn but I have to because I just adore Classic Elite Wool Bam Boo. First of all the color is amazing and I don’t even like blue, but this is such a beautiful color that I couldn’t resist. In certain light the color looks more purple, and in other light it looks more dark blue. It slips along your needles effortlessly, it’s extremely soft and easy on the hands and the drape is wonderful. It’s a little pricey at $9 a ball but quite honestly, I think it’s totally worth it and am planning on buying more in other colors!

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Beadless Cami”

  1. Nubiancraftster Says:

    oh wow!! The color IS gorgeous. I really really like it and I am not much of a blue fan myself. I have never seen a strapless beaded or unbeaded cami so maybe you should do it for knitting history :O)

  2. nika Says:

    It looks gorgeous!! I say with beaded straps. I liked your choice of bead with little flowers very much!!

    Now, I am always interested in your next project!:)

  3. Stacey_CrimsonPurl Says:

    Looks really nice! I am glad the 5th time was the charm! ;o)
    And I will have to try that yarn

  4. Julie Says:

    Ah, I see it was worth it! It looks amazing on you!

  5. soknitpicky Says:

    It looks gorgeous! I like your idea for a strapless–it looks great on you!

  6. Maryse Says:

    I say with beaded straps too! But if you choose not to, it will still be very nice! I’m just a strap person 🙂

  7. Rain Says:

    I love that colour and it looks fab on you hehe ;o)

  8. Bobbi Says:

    wow you knit sooo fast! I think it looks great on you just as it is.

  9. jen sunshine Says:

    I love the soft flow of this without the empire waist. wow. makes me want to knit another one!!! (but i won’t lol)

  10. Trescore Cremasco Says:

    Sweet post.
    I hope you’ll surf on my diary..
    See ya

  11. katarinaknits Says:

    Looks great! I wish I could get away with wearing a cute top like that!

Leave a Reply

