Hey, you be quiet!

 

 

Hush Hush

Pattern: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEsummer04/PATThush.html

Yarn: Silk City Contessa(Discontinued) – 88% Viscose, 12% Silk – Color Natural

Yarn Source: The Old Oaks Ranch

Needles: #3, #2/24″- Inox Express Circulars

#1, #0/24″- Knit Pick Options Circulars

Gauge: 7.75 stitches per inch on #2 Inox Express Circulars.

 

 

 

Pattern Notes: Where do I begin. The smallest measurements of the actual pattern were way too big for me. So I measured my hips, did a swatch and multiplied by the number of stitches per inch. The actual gauge was 7.75 stitches per inch, I rounded up to 8. Besides the feather and fan lace pattern along the bottom, I also followed the original pattern for the straps.

I CO for an XXS – 280 stitches. I divided my stitches as follows.

Rnd 1: Work *10 stitches in rib patt, beg with p2, k80, work 10 sts in rib patt, k40, repeat from * to end of row.

I worked the 5″ of the F&F pattern as called for in the original design. Then switched to #2 circulars and knit 7″ of stockinette stitch to lengthen the dress. Then I worked side decreases as called for in the pattern until I had a total of 240 stitches left on my needle. Because I realized that my sides were now going to be too small I decided instead of continuing to make side decreases, I would then switch to front and back decreases until I had 220 stitches left on the needle. I then increased at the bust until I had 240 stitches. I bound off between straps in the back, put both back straps on stitch holders, and continued in stockinette stitch on #1 circulars. When I had the desired length for my bust I switched needles again and knit the lace F&F pattern between the two front straps using #0 circulars. Once the top lace section was finished, instead of changing to K3, p2, k3 for the straps, I continued in the original pattern, p2, k2, p2, k2, p2, I then kitchener stitched the straps together.

Thoughts: The front is perfect. The back is questionable. I really love the no back, but because the side sections are too small, the straps sit very oddly against my back and fall down. I suppose it isn’t a huge issue because this is definitely a nightie due to the “see through” aspect in certain light. That and the fact that you can’t wear any undergarments without lines and I detest lines! Since I put so much time into this dress, I’m thinking that I need to frog and re-work the top. Because of the way I set up the straps, increasing the sides wouldn’t work without frogging the entire thing and starting fresh, so I think I’ll re-work the back and bind off less stitches between the straps. Anyway, for all extents and purposes, it is finished and beautiful and I’m kind of pleased with my modifications.

Oh and I ran out of ribbon but never fear, I’m definitely going to get more! And is it wrong of me to want to take a picture of my “new” camera? I went and bought a camera from a lovely lady in Austin off of craigslist. I love that place. Anyway it is a Casio Exilim Z120 and I am totally loving it and although I still want a D-SLR, I can see that lugging around a huge monster all day would probably get old, hence the need for a small point and shoot.

 

 

13 Responses to “Hey, you be quiet!”

  1. Kim Says:

    Okay…this is just beautiful! Way to go getting it finished.

  2. Soknitpicky Says:

    So beautiful! Congratulations! If you’re not happy with the straps, I wonder if you can weave in a bit of elastic thread to make them behave the way you want?

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    Thank you so much ladies!

    Soknitpicky – I had not thought of elastic… that may be the way to go without having to frog!

  4. Diana Says:

    Wow, I am speechless!! It’s just beautiful and fits wonderfully. What a marvelous creation and an heirloom for sure!

  5. Dipsy D. Says:

    Oh my gosh – this is stunningly beautiful! Actually, this is certainly the most gorgeous knitted project that I’ve seen for ages – I can only begin to imagine how long you’ve been working on it, but it’s definitely worth every single minute! What a perfect fit too – congratulations on accomplishing such a true piece of art!

  6. pax Says:

    This is amazing.Its so fit on you with your slim body.I love you knitted every skirts.

  7. Karen Austin Says:

    Just incredible and very beautiful. Lovely thanks for sharing.
    karen

  8. Celeste Falkner Says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! I understand you may not necessarily like the way the back “feels” however, the look is very pretty. I’m a new knitter, but I hope to one day be able to not only make something like this, but to be able to alter a pattern to fit my body. Keep up the good work.

  9. may Says:

    This looks stunning on you!! wow..great job!

  10. Alexia Says:

    I am spechless! Georgeous knitted dress! Maybe just maybe I will be able to knit something similar one day.

  11. rofovnifo Says:

    Hi all!

    Looks good! Very useful, good stuff. Good resources here. Thanks much!

    Bye

  12. Stacey Says:

    Absolutely fabulous!!!!

  13. Mirela Says:

    Ohh this is sensational!!!!

Leave a Reply

