Movie times are at 5:00, 6:00 and 7:00

If you don’t use netflix… Well that’s just not possible, everyone uses netflix! You just don’t get more genius than unlimited movie rentals through the mail.

The Queen – Quite frankly I expected more. I’m not sure why… it was very good, just not nearly as interesting as I had hoped. I also wasn’t really that impressed by Helen Mirren… how difficult is it to act dour and serious? Not really, right? I question her winning an Oscar for this role, but I haven’t seen any of the other movies so I’ll hold off complete judgment until I see them. Prince Phillip and Prince Charles totally came off looking bad in the movie… makes one wonder. It wasn’t a complete waste of time, so rent it if you have some free time.

The Last King of Scotland – This movie was so intense, the last half an hour I had to get up and walk around because I just couldn’t handle it. One of the better movies I’ve seen in a long time. I was completely floored by Forest Whitaker’s performance as Idi Amin. I never once thought while watching the movie that he was Forest Whitaker, he was extremely convincing. I love movies that make you think and feel and question as opposed to mindless, souless “entertainment”. I highly recommend this movie and if you saw Hotel Rwanda and enjoyed it, you should see The Last King of Scotland. Beware, this movie is not for the weak at heart. It is extremely graphic and even I was shocked by some of the scenes and nothing fazes me. The best part was that hubby and I were able to walk away from this movie discussing the merits of Amin’s rule. Most of us are spoiled, we do not understand or know the hardships that too many people around the world live with every single day. While I don’t defend his actions, it does make me wonder if I can really condemn a man for doing what he had to in order to survive. Maybe, just maybe, if I were forced in a kill or be killed situation… would I do what I had to in order to survive? I love being forced to think and being challenged and The Last King of Scotland did just that.

The Good Sheperd – I don’t care what anyone says or what reviews have to say, this was a very good movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it. This was also another “thinking” movie. You had to pay very close attention, I was knitting while watching it and at certain times throughout I lost track of who was whom and it was told out of sequence. I think about half way through hubby and I kind of looked at each other and wondered aloud how someone(Matt Damon) could be so cold for what seemed his entire life. I recommend it but don’t think you’re going to get a lot of action, this isn’t your typical “spy” movie, this is no James Bond.

Tonight it’s Pan’s Labyrinth. I’ve heard so many excellent things about this movie, but I’m not going to get my hopes up just in case – I don’t want to be disappointed like I was with Forrest Gump.

2 Responses to “Movie times are at 5:00, 6:00 and 7:00”

  1. nika Says:

    So did you wear IC skirt out?? How did it work out??

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    Nope, not yet. Tonight actually. Hubby and I are going out to dinner to celebrate our anniversary. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

