Withdrawls and thank god for my blackberry!

We have been without internet or phone for almost three days. You just don’t know how much you depend on telephone and internet until they’re gone. Apparently there was some line down and a lot of people were without service and Time Warner promptly came out three times, the first to tell us it wasn’t us, the second to learn the problem wasn’t the original like they thought and the third to actually fix it. Third times the charm.

On the plus side my blackberry has been working overtime this weekend. As much as I adore my phone, it is a huge pain trying to surf the net with such a tiny screen and tiny keys and tiny roller ball, clicky thingy. Without my phone though I wouldn’t have found my next knit project! Hush hush from Knitty.com. After looking at the pattern my heart sank, the measurements are much too big. Not all women are fortunate enough to have breasts, or a butt for that matter, some of us are unfortunately built like 10 year old boys. So after a lot of thinking and math I think I have successfully modified the pattern to fit an XS and an XXS. I have the perfect yarn, I had originally bought it to knit butterfly. In fact I had bought two different colors to knit butterfly because apparently I was high and thought I could actually knit it, boy was I wrong! Now, the white yarn I bought is going to be used to knit hush hush and I was shockingly able to get gauge on size 2US Inox Express needles, so that helps the whole modifying process! I was so dissapointed by my inability to grasp the pattern of butterfly, but hush hush has totally cheered me up! It is a lovely dress and with the right undergarments will make a wonderful going out party dress… or… late night naughty bedtime “party” dress. *snicker*

2 Responses to “Withdrawls and thank god for my blackberry!”

  1. nika Says:

    Hush hush is so pretty.

    How is your Crulty skirt holding up? Have worn it? Have you noticed any “sagging ” effect? I want to make this for warmer weather before I make it in wool. But just have no clue what kind of yarn I should use. I don’t think ctn is a good choice since they tend to stretch. Any ideas??:)

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    I haven’t worn it yet but am going to Monday when my husband and I go out to dinner for our anniversary. I’ll let you know how it holds up.

    http://www.ryclassic.com/silk_wool_dk_300.htm

    Cotton blend/viscose/silk blend.

    http://www.ryclassic.com/luxCotDK-250.htm

    For more affordable yarn, check out knitpicks.

    http://knitpicks.com/DK+weight+knitting+yarn_YL30010105.html

    I have knit with Elegance before and it’s a lovely yarn to work with.

    http://knitpicks.com/CotLin_YD5420162.html

    Cotlin looks like it would be a really good substitute.

    The way I pick yarn, I look at the gauge in the original project, do a search of the yarn, look at the gauge of the actual yarn, and then do a search of whatever weight that yarn is, paying close attention to the gauge of each yarn. Intolerable Cruelty is knit in bamboo which is between a DK weight and a worsted weight. She knit the skirt on size 4US needles which is a lot smaller needle than what DK/worsted is knit on so that the stitches would not be as open. I chose to go with a DK weight yarn which is normally knit with size 5 or 6 needle. When you’re looking at yarn, look for a DK weight that has a gauge of 5.5-6 stitches per inch on size 6US needles. Let me know what you choose and how the skirt is coming along. 😀

Leave a Reply

